Time to $ave $ome

4 10 2011

I’m in between grad school and finding a real job. While in school I saved loans because I knew a time such as this would come.

Yesterday I was paying bills and looking over my finances. If I continue living in the same fashion that I’ve become custom to – I will only have enough money for 4-5 more months. This is very scary.

Today I decided to set some new ground rules for personal expenditures:

1. Gas is far too expensive so I will walk or ride my bike anywhere less than 10 miles.

2. No eating out unless it’s less than $5 and only once a week.

3. No Starbucks or Jamba Juice runs (well, none after I spend the $ on my Starbucks gift card that has been recently loaded : )

4. Meals must be < $3 a day. (That’s roughly $90 a month)

5. No clothing shopping.

6. Practice only free hobbies – I’ll develop new skills (blogging, podcasts, painting using canvases and acrylics that I already own) But no purchasing of new materials.

7. Enjoy the simplicity of life!

Stay tuned for meals under $1 coming soon.


Actions

Information

4 responses

4 10 2011
amyleebell

We finally decided to stop buying breakfast bars and cereal. Now we eat oatmeal! So cheap! We also never buy bread anymore. I have a bread machine though, and I just throw the ingredients in and let it go. I buy a big box of macaroni, and add things like tomato sauce or cream of chicken for a quick and inexpensive meal. I also eat homemade burritos for lunch pretty often. I keep wanting to try making my own laundry soap; I just haven’t gotten around to it yet. I read a breakdown the other day, and apparently, homemade laundry soap is only a penny per load. Good luck with your budgeting!

4 10 2011
amyleebell

I just noticed you were vegetarian, so I guess cream of chicken wouldn’t work very well! šŸ™‚ Cream of mushroom might do nicely though!

4 10 2011
westofthebrook

Thanks for the tips, Amy! These are great ideas!

4 10 2011
Mike Batech

Check out http://www.mint.com for help with setting up budgets and financial planning for the future. For those that embrace technology, it’s a must.

Leave a comment